16 September 2021

New Chairman Appointed

Following this week’s AGM several key decisions were made, none more so than the nomination and appointment of a new chairman. 


The club is pleased to announce that Marc Herbert has taken-up the position of club chairman with immediate effect.

Marc has been one of several key people who found themselves with a huge challenge on their hands when, on the eve of the season, the first team manager and many senior players decided to leave the club. 

In collaboration with the rest of the committee, Marc spearheaded a recruitment drive for a new manager and new players which has borne fruit. 


On his appointment, Marc said: “It’s been a difficult few months but we’ve come a long way in a short space of time and I’m incredibly proud to lead this club onwards and upwards as chairman”.

He went on to say: “The club would like to thank all those who helped promote the recruitment drive on our social media platforms which yielded six applicants for the manager’s position, far more than in previous seasons”. 


Marc also mentioned the time and effort put in by coach Wayne Jepson. Without his professional attitude and commitment the club would be much worse off.


Therefore, it is with great pleasure that the club can announce that Wayne has been appointed Vice Chairman, such is his desire to drive the club forward. 


A full list of positions:


Chairman: Marc Herbert
Vice Chairman: Wayne Jepson

Secretary: Aaron Herbert (a new appointment - welcome to the club, Aaron)
Assistant Secretary: Ian Smith

Treasurer: Deb Gibbon

Committee Members:
• Cheryl Herbert
• Darren Jones
• Mike Lewis (welcome back, Mike!)
• Tony Jones
• Neil Skuse 
• Chris Timm
• Tony Smith
• Steve Thomas

It’s as you were with the youth section, which goes from strength-to-strength each year:

Chairman: Mark Williams
Secretary: Ian Smith
Treasurer: Rob McGrath
Welfare Officers: Tony Jones and Kate Banks
Grants Officer: Sam Lowri

Committee Members:
• Matthew Evans
• Jason Tahanha



29 August 2021

New Manager Appointed

The club is pleased to announce that former Newport County player Darren Jones has been appointed as First Team Manager.

Darren has a wealth of playing experience, having played professionally for clubs such as Bristol City, Forest Green Rovers, Hereford United, Shrewsbury Town and Wimbledon. He also played for Wales at youth level.

He retired from the professional game at the end of the 2016/17 season and moved into management, being appointed manager of Chepstow Town in November 2017.


Darren intends on bringing in some additional coaching staff but is also keen to work with current coach Wayne Jepson, who has been immense in the last few months in terms of effort and commitment.


Darren's first game in charge will be the home game against RTB Ebbw Vale on Saturday 4th of September, but new signing are already in the pipeline to strengthen the current squad.

Welcome to the club, Darren!


02 August 2021

Chairman Stands Down

Cwmbrân Town AFC regrets to announce that Brett Howells has today stood down as club chairman.

In a short statement he said: "I have made the decision to stand down as chairman of Cwmbrân Town AFC.

I would like to thank everyone who has helped me over the years; committee members, management teams and players.

I have made some amazing friendships over the years and I am truly grateful.
I wish the club every success in the future."